12. Back to the Future – part trois!

Back to the Future Part Trois

So, these Movie hints should be telling you something. But, what?

Dear son, Richard, duly arrived and off we went to the pub – for lunch. Well, Elaine and Richard went off to lunch, I kept them company, toying with my usual – a bowl of thin soup and oh, yes of course, a sprinkling of Weetabix (gotta keep up with my protocol) over the surface, randomly dropped by a Waiter wearing a pair of those big, jam-jar bottom glasses that prove you can’t really see, but do fool customers into believing otherwise!

[That was what I drafted yesterday, but see, we suddenly had a snow fall of 15 cm deep at about 11:30am.  We valliantly tried to get from Ceres to Cupar (3 miles and 11 minutes) to no avail.  We had to abandon the car in Meldrum’s Hotel in the village, having nearly crashed into parked vehicles!  Best laid plans, eh? –  “Of Mice and Men“, (John Steinbeck)]

Of Mice and Men

So, in honour of two of my favourite comedians whom Elaine and I together with her parents, managed to see “live” at the AlhambraTheatre (before refurbishment – much cosier!) in Bradford, West Yorkshire in the 1980s.  “And so, please give a hand to the short fat hairy one  ….  “

Customer: “Waiter, waiter, there’s a fly in my soup!

Waiter:Where Sir?

Customer:There, there of course, can’t you see it?”

Waiter: “Shh, quiet Sir, please?”

Customer:What do you mean, be quiet?

Waiter:The other customers may overhear, and they’ll all want one.”

   …. ba-bum!! (Morecambe and Wise, 1970s)

Morcambe and Wise

And, now for something completely different – not! (Monty Python’s Flying Circus).

And Now for Something Completely Different

We are going to get technical again, and I’d like to share a little more about the drug experience (no, not that one from the 1970s when Timothy Leary and others were experimenting with real, pure, and novel to them, Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (LSD)!. No, I mean the EOX – my chosen ‘Chemo combo’ (well, selected for me) by the wonderful Dr P, at Ninewells, Dundee. You remember Blog 1 (“You think you’ve got problems”), don’t ya?

LSD – a great track on the Beatles album, “Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band.

SGT Pepper

Now speaking of music, did I tell you I like it? What do you think?  Well, also speaking of experience (drugs or any other kind) there is no better than listening to the Jimi Hendrix Experience – especially playing on their very first UK album. Consider this: I bought my vinyl copy of this album in 1966! I had only 3 other (vinyl) records in my possession at the time. Get off my Cloud (The Rolling Stones) – a single 45rpm disk; With the Beatles (1963) and A Hard Days Night (1964) both by The Beatles) on MONO Vynyl LPs (33⅓ rpm).

Are you experienced

Jimi Hendrix (the best guitarist – ever, in my humble view!)

Get off my cloud

“Get off my cloud”, The Rolling Stones.  (Not the original sleeve, which I recall was a pale orange stripey paper thing. Unfortunately, I sold all my 45 rpm singles years ago – big mistake!)

With the Beatles

“With the Beatles”. Although earlier (1963) than a Hard Day’s Night (1964), I bought this second.  Mum and Dad bought “A Hard Day’s Night“,  for me for Christmas; I was 12, I think)

A Hard Days Night

Music and Film (and books) – my favourite things!. But hey, isn’t this supposed to be a technical piece? Ok, back to it, but …

This turned into far too long a piece to cover thoroughly in one go so I have decided to split it and the final part will appear later as, “Back to the Future – part quatre!”.

Chemotherapy drugs destroy cancers by killing cells that make up the abnormally growing tissue mass (ie they are cytotoxic) of a tumour. They disrupt the growth of cancer cells after being given to the patient via one of 4 routes: as an injection; through a drip into the arm (I had that for E and O of my EOX!); through a pump as a slow continuous infusion, or as tablets. (I have them too for X).

The drugs circulate in the bloodstream around the body, targeting the cancer cells (malignant usually; though, benign tumour cells can be targets too), but can also affect other cells that rapidly growing such as the bone marrow, hair follicles, gastro-intestinal tract (which results in some of the observed side effects – anaemia, bleeding, infections, hair loss, diarrhoea and/or constipation (or both in my case – damn it!). There’s going to be a lot more about this later – “Fifty Shades of Brown” – comes to mind, or the opposite end of my body! Watch the next episode here on the BBC!

Depending upon an individual diagnosis chemotherapy may be given before and after surgery; to reduce or control symptoms in advanced cancer (my situation); to slow an advanced cancer down (hopefully my situation too!).

Sometimes, the chemotherapy is given directly into the abdomen when there is evidence that cancer cells have spread onto the inside of the abdominal wall and are making the abdomen swell with fluid (ascites). This is known as intra peritoneal chemotherapy, and though not carried out very often, a small cut is made in the wall of the abdomen, catheterised so that fluid in the abdomen can be drained out, after which chemotherapy infusion utilises the same catheter.

Despite having intra-abdominal malignant cell spread at least to some lymph nodes and elsewhere (pancreas?) I have not been offered this option (note to self – ask why not at next appointment?). I have mentioned other biological and chemotherapeutic treatments and trials elsewhere, so I won’t repeat these here, but the Cancer Research UK Campaign web site is a great source. http://www.cancerresearchuk.org

OK – so, I’m taking a break here.

Back tomorrow folks!

CYA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

