48.One week down the line

 

Cancer Research UK Logo 2

 

It has been almost one week now since my first intravenous infusion with my second line, single drug regime defence Chemo (Docetaxel).  Docetaxel is one of the taxane type drugs that were originally developed from the yew tree. That’s interesting, I like the idea of a ‘natural herbal’ origin for this drug!  Docetaxel is a man-made drug that was first made from yew tree needles. It is also known by its brand name, Taxotere®, and is sometimes referred to the abbreviated, Taxo. It is used to treat Breast cancer, Lung cancer, Head and neck cancer, Prostate cancer as well as my Stomach cancer.

Cancer Research UK

Taxo works by inhibiting cell division, thus stopping the cancer cells from separating into 2 new cells, and blocking cancer growth.

Read more at http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/about-cancer/cancers-in-general/treatment/cancer-drugs/docetaxel#vxYluHKbbpTMEr5x.99

So how goes it?  It has been shite: I have lost another 18 Llbs, have no appetite, I constantly feel full and even drinking those ‘wonderful’ Ensure drinks makes me rift and regurgitate.

 

ensure stawberry drink

So, after misery for a week, I’ll be contacting my Nursing staff to enquire about anything I can do to improve my quality of life, though I suspect there’ll not be much to recommend, as it is still early days.  But I’m impatient.

I don’t get hypersensitive to the cold or touching metal/cold surfaces, so there is at least one silver lining in my cloud.  However, I’m still here and grateful for every bit of sunshine that hits the Kingdom of Fife, especially those spots in our garden I have been developing and nurturing as my ‘Mediterranean’ retreat, complete with (hopefully now recovering) Bougainvillea plants growing on the corner patio.  Lots of slightly sunny photos below.

Dearest daughter Ellen stayed with us again this weekend (two in a row – now that her School has retired for the summer).  Last Thursday she passed her car driving test with flying colours, but thousands of pounds of driving lessons to the bad (or good?).  Anyway, it’s done, though she did start when she was 18.

L-plates driving test passed

Image accessed on 4 July 2016 at: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=pass+driving+test+images&client=firefox-b&biw=1366&bih=595&tbm=isch&imgil=pa1YhumydBxhhM%253A%253BvmLZ23FkzqvZdM%253Bhttp%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.victoriawardhypnotherapy.com%25252Fhypnosis-hypnotherapy-pass-driving-test-colchester%25252F&source=iu&pf=m&fir=pa1YhumydBxhhM%253A%252CvmLZ23FkzqvZdM%252C_&usg=__Fk9N3E0HBhURshu2euUG5XcGYFo%3D

As promised here are some latest photos of the garden:

 

Well, that’s all folks.  Bye for now.

Buggs Sign off

2 thoughts on “48.One week down the line

  1. Hi Roni

    Thanks for your note. You are still welcome to visit us here in Ceres – as suggested earlier. Yes, you are right about sun andf heat – not the same thing!

    I’ll update the blog with further ‘shite’ news soon.

    Cheers
    Colin

    Like

  2. The garden is looking fabulous, Colin. Typical Fife, though: get your kit off in the Mediterranean sunshine, and then get the wood burner going.

    Sorry to hear about the traumas of the chemo. I take it ‘shite’ is a technical term. I hope things improve soon,
    Roni
    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

